Film · Top 10

Movies I’m Looking Forward to in 2019

I love a good cinema trip as much as the next person and 2018 was a good year for me film wise. I got some good films in, some that I expected and others that got my attention as the year went on so naturally I’m excited to see what 2019 has in store…

Divider 2.png

Captain Marvel

captain_marvel_posterMarvel is finally getting it together and giving us its first female lead solo film! I’m trying to not get too hyped though because I know, in regards to story, we’re going to be back to origin basics over anything majorly new.

UK Release Date: March 8

Shazam!

mv5bmjiyntkwody1of5bml5banbnxkftztgwmtuymta5njm@._v1_I’m Marvel all the way, but I won’t lie and say I’m not the least bit curious about Shazam. DC doesn’t have the best track record but I think it will be interesting to see them do something that’s obviously more fun where they aren’t taking themselves so seriously.

UK Release Date: April 5

Avengers: Endgame

mv5bngzimzbkzjmtnje3mi00mwnllwiyyjitytk3mjy0yjg5odzkxkeyxkfqcgdeqxvyndg4njy5otq@._v1_Again, I’m not going to lie and say I’m not the least bit worried about this one because the truth is, I’m terrified. I haven’t even watched the trailer yet and part of me doesn’t want to because it isn’t like Marvel is entirely truthful in their trailers.

UK Release Date: April 26

Aladdin

mv5bmji1oti3odc0m15bml5banbnxkftztgwnde4ote1njm@._v1_Aladdin has never been at the top end of my Disney favourites but it has always been a film I can watch. I know many people have their concerns about this one but honestly, Disney has been killing it with these live action remakes.

UK Release Date: May 24

X – Men: Dark Phoenix

mv5bmjm0njcymzu5nl5bml5banbnxkftztgwnte2mzu0njm@._v1_Is this film actually going to come out this year? Considering I had Dark Phoenix on my 2018 movies list and it has been pushed back twice since then I wouldn’t exactly say I’m looking forward to it anymore, but I’ll probably still head out and see it if I can.

UK Release Date: I honestly have no idea at this point

Men in Black: International

men_in_black_international_(official_film_poster)I haven’t actually seen any of the original Men in Black films, but Tessa Thompson and Chris Hemsworth are a hilarious duo and that is enough motivation for me to see this movie at some point.

UK Release Date: June 14

Spider-Man: Far From Home

nbpsjwcqpq1p4dw0glvkcds0gdhConsidering Marvel practically owns me at this point it’s fair to say I will be seeing Tom Hollands second solo Spider-Man outing despite knowing absolutely nothing about it – other than the obvious Avengers: Endgame spoiler.

Release Date: July 5

The Lion King

mv5bmziwmzqxotq3nf5bml5banbnxkftztgwmja0ndaxndm@._v1_ux182_cr0,0,182,268_al_Not sure if I’m excited or anxious. The Lion King has always been my favourite Disney movie and I’m just not sure they could remake it and match what I’ve grown up with and loved for so long, but I guess we’ll find out.

Release Date: July 19

Wonder Woman 1984

ww84logo_onesheetI don’t think there’s anything that could stop me wanting to see this film. I absolutely loved the first Wonder Woman and even though, like I’ve said, I’m not DC’s biggest fan Gal Gadot and Patty Jenkins nailed it!

Release Date: November 1

Pokemon Detective Pikachu

wkyj0fdYeah I wasn’t expecting this one to be in this list either. I wanted to get 10 movies on this list and it was a toss-up between this one and Star Wars Episode IX and even though I do love Star Wars I wasn’t crazy about The Last Jedi so it does make me a little apprehensive when it comes down to Episode IX. Plus, Pikachu is fuzzy and cute so it was a no brainer on the tenth spot really.

Release Date: May 10

Divider 2.png

ARE THERE ANY FILMS YOU’RE LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS YEAR?

name l

Find me on

Twitter| Instagram | Bookstagram |GoodReads| Facebook

One thought on “Movies I’m Looking Forward to in 2019

  1. I feel this, Marvel completely owns me too 🤣 I did watch the trailer for Avengers Endgame and lemme tell you IT HURT. Detective Pickachu is one my boyfriend really wants to see and it looked interesting enough (I’ve never seen pokemon or did anything with pokemon). I did watch all the MIB movies so that one really looks good as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment