Book Reviews

Passenger – Alexandra Bracken: Review

Passenger (Passenger, #1)Passenger (Passenger #1) by Alexandra Bracken

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Read: February 19 – February 26

In the whole course of history, war had always fallen on the shoulders of the young

I’m not sure OK. It wasn’t awful…so there’s that. I’m just not really sure what I think.

It did take me a while to get into it and understand what was happening but even when I did get into it I felt like I was forcing myself to read it and I definitely skimmed through the last chapter just so I could finish it. But lets start with some positives…

The male lead is African America (which is rare).
It had a decent amount of world building. Not too much that you were overwhelmed but enough that you could picture things.
Time travel. Noice

…That’s about all the positives I got.

I wanted to like Passenger I really did. I wanted to feel swept away and taken on an adventure and I may have been. Had the pacing not been so slow and plodding and the writing not feel so emotionless and formal.

There are so many lengthy paragraphs of just meaningless description that added nothing to the ambience of the scene or to the story. There were also huge chunks of dialogue. I get that there’s a history about the characters and the travelling to fit in, but you need that type of history and back story in most books and most authors manage to do it without boring me. Alexandra Bracken is not one of those authors. I felt like I was just having information thrown at me instead of being interested and actually wanting to know that information.

The rather flat narrative doesn’t do any of the characters any favours. Both Etta and Nicholas come across bland and have rather flat personalities. I wouldn’t call their relationship instalove (its instalove) but it’s very abrupt and unnecessary. I feel that Bracken spent more time info-dumping rather than building any kind of chemistry between Etta and Nicholas and the doe-eyed, lovey-dovey relationship between two is very cringe-y in places.

I actually though I was enjoying this book. Until I got towards the end and realised I didn’t care. Ha

Overall, I found Passenger rather slow with no real character build or emotion that evolved through info-dumping and reached a very anti-climatic conclusion.

It’s our choices that matter in the end. Not wishes, not words, not promises

2.9

********

Emma

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

