Book Reviews

This Savage Song – Victoria Schwab: Review

This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity, #1)This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Read: July 27 – August 2

It doesn’t matter if you’re monster or human. Living hurts.

I feel like I’m in a liking slump. I’m liking a lot of books but I’m not loving them. I wanted to love This Savage Song but unfortunately it does still fall into the ‘like’ category.

This Savage Song is set in split city divided into the Harker and Flynn territories and follows Harker’s only child Kate as she tries to prove that she is her father’s daughter and August the youngest of the Flynn trio who just wants to be human. Problem is, being human is the farthest from what he actually is.

For me, this is a step down for Victoria Schwab. The world is very bland and plain, especially in comparison to a triad of London’s. Maybe I would have been more enthralled had I not read the A Darker Shade of Magic trilogy first.

With that being said, This Savage Song poses mystery and monsters with feuding families. If that’s what you’re into then great! For me it was a little slow starting. Nothing seemed to be going anywhere for the first 1/4 and the whole premise seemed very Romeo and Juliet. The whole star-crossed lovers garbage. What I love about Schwab is that she seemingly teases and plants seeds for a romance but then never executes it right away. I wouldn’t necessarily call it a slow burn but it is something that I think will continue to surprise me.

Similarly with the world-building I found the characters quite hit and miss. The idea of them is great but I just couldn’t find myself feeling anything for them. Kate’s whole ‘idgaf’ attitude got old quite quickly and at times I felt a ‘feel sorry for me’ vibe coming from August. They were never annoying but definitely got better as they were together more and they began to trust one another. I don’t think Schwab could have developed or adapted these characters further in this book as it would have become too much but they just didn’t strike a chord with me.

The best part about this book was the ending. Or at least the last 1/4. It felt like we were really getting somewhere in regards to the plot whereas nothing had really been revealed before. There were definitely some twists that were unexpected and the odd brutal moment but I think I just expected more.

More from the author.
More from the characters
More from the story.

Ultimately, This Savage Song did fall a little short of my expectations but I’m pretty sure that’s because Schwab has set them so high. There is nothing noticeably wrong with this book other than the fact that there wasn’t enough building or development in comparison to Schwab’s other works to really woo me. The little tease at the end was definitely intriguing and slightly got my interest for Our Dark Duet 

3.2/5

********

Emma

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

